• Welcome to Hair loss Experiences hair loss forum.

Free impartial hair loss advice, hair transplant advice, hair loss medications and hair loss news.
    You can contact us directly at [email protected] if you experience any problems.

Gynecomastia with Finasteride

Q

quincey jones

valued member
I have been using Finasteride for 3 months without any issues until this week. I am feeling an ache in my chest, plus under closer examination I`m noticing a fat build up creating small moobs. I`m not experiencing any of the other known side effects.

Are there any meds that safely counter the effects of Fin to reduce the fatty tissue build up and prevent the ache?

C

Coopman

Valued member
Unless you have put on weight in the last 3 months, it would probably be wise to stop taking Finasteride.

Bigmac

Bigmac

Administrator
Staff member
If it is the Finasteride causing it you should maybe quit it, lower the dose and possibly see your doctor about it.Some people say they have permanent side effects from it, others say they go away after continued use or lower dosage.Only you can decide what to do.

If I were you, I'd quit for a few months to see if the symptoms go away, if they do you know for sure it was the Finasteride. Then maybe try a smaller dose and if ok gradually build it up.
Good luck with it.

Q

quincey jones

valued member
I'm guessing there's no meds I can use to counter the sides. I'll reduce the dose to every other day, see how it goes from there.
Thanks for the advice.

F

Frankie1983

Valued member
You can use tamoxifen if you can get hold of it

Bigmac

Bigmac

Administrator
Staff member
Tamoxifen blocks the actions of estrogen, the female hormone.

Tamoxifen is used to treat some types of breast cancer in men and women.

It can cause side effects or react to other drugs, so consult with a doctor before taking it.

bullitnut

bullitnut

4 awesome repairs with SMG