• Welcome to Hair loss Experiences hair loss forum.

Free impartial hair loss advice, hair transplant advice, hair loss medications and hair loss news.
    You can contact us directly at [email protected] if you experience any problems.

Afro Hair Transplant and best

F

Freddo911

Hello mate,

Apologies for the late reply on this. I have just been occupied with exams and work. I am no expert on this subject and as good as newbie like yourself but I can tell you my experience so far.

First thing is try some meds Finasteride and Minoxidil to stabilise and regrow your hair if you can. Let a HT be the last resort. I have actually decided to go down this path as we speak. I have had one proper consultation with Dr. Krishnan of Hillside Clinic and he was kind of pushing for an FUT as it easier obviously and he claimed he could get more grafts harvested as my donor area is not that great. He advised he could get a max of 3k grafts with FUE but can get more with FUT which I am not prepared to have. This will be in two sessions costing me something in region of £15K for the two sessions. I was under no illusion this will be cheap but wasn't expecting it to be that high either.

The FUT would be around 5k but am not prepared to have a scar at the back of my head. With afro hair it's not as straightforward due to the curly nature and general notion is that it's harder to use the FUE technique and takes longer, hence requires someone with experience in that hair type. If your keen on proceeding with a HT always bear this factor in mind that you need a surgeon experienced in afro hair and money shouldn't the primary deciding factor either.